ALS Clinics in Ontario

Below you will find a listing of locations for all the ALS Clinics within Ontario.

If there is not a clinic location in your area, please speak with your family doctor or neurologist to obtain a referral to a clinic that accepts clients outside of their immediate area (*indicated below).

Hamilton

The ALS Clinic
McMaster University Medical Centre
Hamilton Health Sciences
1200 Main Street West Room 4U
Box 2000
Hamilton, ON L8N 3Z5
Tel: 905 521-2100 x76870
FAX: 905 521-2656

The ALS Clinic is a multidisciplinary centre aimed at caring for the needs of those living with ALS and their families. The centre is dedicated to conducting research to find a treatment and eventually a cure for this devastating disease.

Position Name Ext Email
Care Team:      
Neurologist & Director Dr. John Turnbull x76365 turnbull@mcmaster.ca
Clinic Co-ordinator Jane Allan x76870 allanj...@hhsc.ca
Social Worker Maureen Hills x73257 hills@hhsc.ca
Wheelchair/Seating Occupational Therapist Patricia Illman x40841 illman@hhsc.ca
Respirologist Dr. John Cunningham    
Respiratory Therapist Jodee Naylor x73731 naylorj@hhsc.ca
Gastroenterologist Dr. Bruno Salena    
Administrative Assistant Shelley Curry x76365 curruys@mcmaster.ca
AAC Technology Team:      
Speech Language Pathologist Sean Hodgson x77466 hodgssea@hhsc.ca
Occupational Therapist Jennifer Burch-Gill x74432 careyk@hhsc.ca
Rehabilitation Technologist James Leslie x77025 leslie@hhsc.ca

 

Kingston

The Adult Neuromuscular Clinic
PCCC, St. Mary's of the Lake Hospital Site
Department of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
340 Union Street, Postal Bldg. 3600
Kingston, ON K7L 5A2
Tel: 613-544-1894
Fax: 613-544-8640

Position Name Email
Physiatrist & Team Leader Dr. Joy Wee weej@providencececare.ca
Physiotherapist Kevin Varette varettek@providencecare.ca
Spiritual Care Associate Alison Filteau  
Respirologist Dr. Michael Fitzpatrick  
Respiratory Therapist Sandy Fodey  
Occupational Therapist Richard Lenart lenartr@providencecare.ca
Neurologist Dr. Michel Melanson  
Neurologist Dr. Sean Taylor  
Clinic Nurse Heather O'Meara  omearah@providencececare.ca
Speech Language Pathologist Audrey Brown browna1@providencececare.ca
Social Worker Susan Gies giess@providencecare.ca
 Palliative Care Physician Dr. Ivan Stewart  

Services include multidisciplinary assessment by PTs, OTs, RTs, medical subspecialists such as neurologists, cardiologists and respirologists, speech therapists, social workers and nurses. Patients also have access to seating and an orthotics clinic.

*London

Department of Clinical Neurological Sciences
Motor Neuron Disease Clinic
339 Windermere Road, Box 5339
London, Ontario N6A 5A5
Tel: 519-663-3597
Fax: 519-663-3609

The London Motor Neuron Diseases Clinic Team is an inter-disciplinary group of healthcare providers, who have expert knowledge about motor neuron diseases.

OUR GOALS:

  • To provide expert care to patients with Motor Neuron Diseases.
  • To provide education, monitoring and timely interventions to our clients and their families.
  • To promote regular communications between the family doctor, community health care providers and the Motor Neuron Diseases Team.
  • To be involved in clinical research in Motor Neuron Diseases including clinical trials, epidemiological research, diagnostic testing, and quality-of-life evaluations.

The Team consists of the following professionals whom you see in one day:

Position Name Phone Number
Neurologist & MND Clinic Medical Director Dr. Christen Shoesmith (519) 663-3597
Administrative Assistant to Dr. Shoesmith Connie Feke (519) 663-3597
Neurologist  Dr. Michael Strong (519) 663-3874
Administrative Assistant to Dr. Strong Betsy Toth (519) 663-3874
Clinic and Research Nurse Juanita Will (519) 663-3934
Physiotherapist Karen Findlater (519) 663-3503
Occupational Therapist Leann Merla (519) 685-8500 ext 35637
Speech Language Pathologist Office (519) 685-8500 ext.33517
Dietitian Susan Ward (519) 685-8500 ext 35875
Social Worker Mikelle Meaden (519) 685-8500 ext 32410

 

Ottawa

The Rehabilitation Centre
505 Smyth Road
Ottawa, ON K1H 8M2
Tel: 613-737-7350
Fax: 613-733-8336

Position Name Ext Email
Physiatrist Dr. Usha Buenger x75591  
Respirologist Dr. Douglas McKim x75318  
Nurse Co-ordinator Susan McNeely x75421 smcneely@toh.on.ca
Physiotherapist Lorraine Papineau x75313 lpapineau@toh.on.ca
Occcupational Therapist Francine Olivier x75311 folivier@toh.on.ca
Social Worker Kenzie McCurdy x75439 kmccurdy@toh.on.ca
Speech-Language Pathologist Julianne Labreche x75984 jlabreche@toh.on.ca
Clinical Dietitian Elaine Cawadias x75528 ecawadias@toh.on.ca
Respiratory Therapist   x75343  

 

Thunder Bay

Neurology Day Program
St. Joseph's Hospital
Main Floor, Area C
35 N. Algoma St.
PO Box 3251
Thunder Bay, ON P7B 5G7

Position Name Phone Number
Program Manager Trish Nelson (807) 343-2449
Secretary Kyla Turner (807) 346-2334

The Program Team also consists of a Physiotherapist, Occupational Therapist, Social Worker, Therapeutic Recreationist, Psychologist, Speech-Language Pathologist and Rehabilitation Assistant.

*Toronto

(This clinic accepts clients outside of the GTA)
Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
ALS/Neuromuscular Clinic
2075 Bayview Avenue, Room #UG26
Toronto, ON M4N 3M5
Tel: 416-480-4213 Administrative/Secretary or 416-480-4214 Nurse Coordinator

Position Name Email
Medical Director

Dr. Lorne Zinman
(Neurologist)

 
Consultant Neurologist Dr. Aaron Izenberg  
Consultant Neurologist Dr. Amer Ghavanini  
Clinic Co-ordinator Myrna Moore myrna.moore@sunnybrook.ca
Consultant Physiatrist Dr. Deborah Rabinovitch  
Consultant Respirologist Dr. Anu Tandon  
Dietitian Nicole Shukett nicole.shukette@assistivetechnologyclinic.ca
Occupational Therapist Karen Frydrych karen.frydrych@assistivetechnologyclinic.ca
Research Coordinator Catarina Downey catarina.downey@sunnybrook.ca
Research Coordinator Shirley Pham shirley.pham@sunnybrook.ca
Respiratory Therapist Jerry Hanimyan  
Research Manager Jane McKinley jane.mckinley@sunnybrook.ca
Speech Language Pathologist Frances Ezerzer frances.ezerzer@assistivetechnologyclinic.ca
Administrative Assistant/Secretary Olive Grozelle olive.grozelle@sunnybrook.ca